Car Seat Safety

Don’t take a chance. Have your child’s safety seat inspected!   Motor vehicle crashes are the leading cause of injury-related death among children ages 14 and under.Why? In many cases, children are either not properly buckled into their safety seats or parents don’t realize that a booster seat is vital to ensuring children fit safely in their vehicle’s seat belt.Installing a car seat correctly is the most important thing you can do to protect your child if you are in a crash. And Lacey Fire District 3 wants to make sure your child is safe and sound when riding in your car. That’s why we have staff available to offer free child car seat inspections and installations.

Car seat checks are available at the District’s Headquarters on the Third Tuesday of each month from 11 am to 1 pm.  Additional dates and times are also available throughout the area.  Please contact the District’s Headquarters at 360-491-2410 for specific dates and times or for other questions you may have.  PLEASE NOTE:  For car seat inspection and/or installation other than at the scheduled events below,  YOU MUST MAKE AN APPOINTMENT.  Due to the limited number of car seat technicians on site, we cannot guarantee same day service.

 Washington’s Child Restraint Law Requires:

carseat

  • Children under 13 years old be transported in the back seat where it is practical to do so.
  • Children up to their 8th birthday, unless they are 4’9″ tall (which ever comes first), must ride in a child restraint. (For example – a child car seat, booster seat, vest, or other restraint that is federally approved for use in the car.)
  • The restraint system must be used correctly according to the car seat AND vehicle manufacturer’s instructions.
  • Vehicles equipped with lap-only seat belts are exempt from the requirement to use a booster seat.
  • Children 8 years of age or at least 4’9″ who wear a seat belt MUST use it correctly (never under the arm or behind the back) or continue to use a booster.

The fine for improperly restrained children in motor vehicles is at least $112 per child.

Always follow the manufacturers’ instructions and guidelines for both the child restraint and the vehicle. For more information on choosing the safest seat for your child, please call 1-800-BUCK-L-UP.

Washington Seat Belt Law Requires:

  • All vehicle occupants must be properly restrained in all seating positions.
  • The driver is responsible for properly securing all children under the age of 16.
  • Passengers 16 years of age and older are responsible for themselves. They may receive their own citation if they are not properly restrained.
  • Buckling one seat belt around two people or placing the seat belt under the arm or behind the back is dangerous, can cause death or serious injury, and is a violation of the law.

More Programs

speedyspotter“Speedy Spotter” Locator Signs
We can’t help you, if we can’t find you.


carseatsafetyCar Seat Safety
Help protect and keep your children safe.


helmetsafetyHelmet Safety
Need a helmet? We can help.


seniordrivingSenior Driving Program
Learn how you can be an even safer driver in your senior years.


smokedetectorSmoke Detector Program
Smoke detectors are inexpensive, life-saving devices.